Gov. Ambode of Lagos State Wins Governor of the Year Award – CIAPS


The Centre for International Advanced and Professional Studies (CIAPS) has adjudged Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State the best “Governor of the Year” for 2015/2016 when compared with other governors in the country, Daily Post reports.

CIAPS uses its Governors’ Performance Index (CGPI), a monthly performance review index of the political performance of governors across the states, to rate each governor against the performance of others in other states – across a wide section of performance indexes.

[ad name=”PostTopAd”]

Olumuyiwa Ayoola, the CGPI coordinator, in a statement revealed that the performances of the governors were rated based on – Payment of salaries; Infrastructure and health; Education; Security; Business Opportunity and Employment among others.

Ayoola further clarified that each state governor was monitored and rated from his first day in office and his monthly performance mathematically computed against those of others in the country. This is just Gov. Ambode’s first year in office.

[ad name=”PostBottomAd”]

The index takes into account the economic variables to which each state is subjected to and how the governors are able to achieve significant initiatives in the face of limiting factors.

“CGPI is a useful tool for democracy and good governance as it allows government to be objectively measured against their peers and compels all in power to be mindful of accountability,” said Prof. Anthony Kila, chairman and centre director for CIAPS.

A detailed overview of how serving governors have been rated in the past months can be seen on CGPI website.


About the Author

Wale Eleshin
Wale has a degree in Communication and Language Arts from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria; and a Masters in Library, Archival, and Information Studies from the same institution. He loves writing, gardening, and hanging out with friends. Wanna get in touch? Contact him at [email protected]

Be the first to comment on "Gov. Ambode of Lagos State Wins Governor of the Year Award – CIAPS"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.